Saturday, March 21, 2026

We filmed p.2

 So as I said in the last production post, I was pretty confident that going into Thursday's filming, everything would go more smoothly. And yes, while we got up into the final confrontation between Bob and the wife, after going through the raw footage I have come across a huge dilemma. Let's see if you can spot it!

yours truly as "LEWIS"
I'll give you a hint - it's not the lighting. What's that? Yep you got it! The mics are EXTREMELY VISIBLE in some of these shots. This is where its made super obvious that I'm an amateur who is figuring stuff out as they go along. Right now it looks like I'll be relying on extreme close ups through zooming in post, but honestly it might even help elevate the claustrophobia and tension I aim on creating, so maybe my ignorance and stupidity is actually a blessing in disguise! Also, backing up a few shots, you see that one shot with kind of bad lighting where Alejandro is clenching his teeth, this shot was completely improvised on the fly. I had this vision I attempted to convey in my storyboard of jumpcuts being used from an eagle eye perspective as Bob drags the body out of the stall after hiding it from Lewis.
one of the many outtakes
the final shot

 While we did remain faithful to this aspect in the end, after thousands of interruptions from either me completely losing composure or Alejandro or Lucas breaking character because of how purely chaotic getting the shots were, we also had the idea of getting a POV shot (maybe not a POV because his eyes are closed because he's "dead") looking at Alejandro's face as he desperately tries to drag the body out of the bathroom stall. I think this shot came out pretty well and also would be a cool front postcard design, something like this:

Another notable moment was the creation of the teacher's wife's contact card. I didn't think it would be that big a deal and I told Alejandro to set his phone to a black screen but he opted to use a skull emoji with heart eyes which amused him quite a bit. 




Maybe there's some deeper symbolic significance I'm unaware of but we definitely had a good laugh, which brings me to my final point: We didn't finish :((((( which means we are officially behind schedule. This is all part of the trial and error that comes with learning to effectively do something, but the time we lost breaking character and getting distracted added up and while the actor for the wife was present, we didn't get to finish filming her parts. Fortunately, this upcoming monday we are able to go back to the office building once more to film the final sequence, and finally wrap filming.


No comments:

Post a Comment

We filmed p.2

 So as I said in the last production post, I was pretty confident that going into Thursday's filming, everything would go more smoothly....